NAHRO Advocacy Awards

The NAHRO advocacy awards were created by NAHRO’s Board of Governors to both recognize outstanding and innovative effort and achievement in the area of legislative advocacy and to publicize and promote further legislative advocacy among NAHRO members and organizations.

Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award

Legislator of the Year Award



Legislator of the Year Award

Representative Olver Named NAHRO's Legislator of the Year

Representative John Olver (D-MA) was named NAHRO’s Legislator of the Year at this year’s Legislative Conference. The award honors federal legislators for their efforts in support of responsible policies impacting the provision of safe and affordable housing in quality communities.

Olver represents the 1st Congressional district in Massachusetts,where he currently serves as the Chairman of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development and related agencies. Since 2007, Olver has overseen the nation’s transportation and housing budget while defending and improving housing programs that frequently stand on the chopping block of receiving budget allocation. Additionally, he provided funding for homeless veterans where there was none in more than ten years with the VASHprogram. The vouchers have particularly worked in tandem with other housing programs to help residents of central Massachusetts.   

In his role overseeing HUD’s budget, Olver was able reopen programs that help unemployed homeowners and those that received pay cuts to obtain emergency loans in order to prevent impending foreclosures. He also routinely voted against a version of the FY 2012 budget that would sacrifice jobs and decrease funding for housing initiatives like HOPE VI and the Community Development Block Grants.

"The [sic] budget is a balanced approach that will sustain our economic recovery, preserves programs for those [sic] who have been hardest by the downturn, and asks the wealthy to pay their share to bring down the deficit," Olver said.

Watch Representative Olver’s acceptance speech:


Learn more about Representative Olver

2011 Winner: Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)