Elizabeth B. Wells Memorial Award

Purpose:  To honor a current commissioner, or one who has served within the past 12 months, who has demonstrated excellence in advocating for and developing the financial, political, and community support necessary to ensure the continuation and expansion of housing or community development programs.

History:The award was established in 1987 in the name of Elizabeth B. Wells to provide a living acknowledgment of the outstanding contributions she made to the housing field as a member of the Board of Commissioners of the King County (WA) Housing Authority and as NAHRO's first Vice President of the Commissioners Committee.

Qualifications:   Each nominee must be an individual or associate member of National NAHRO and have contributed in the areas of community leadership, advocacy, and public relations as well as to the activities of NAHRO.

Deadline: August 15, 2018.

The winner will be honored at NAHRO's National Conference in Atlanta, GA, October 25-27, 2018.

 Apply Online

Wells Judging Guidelines

           2016 Recipient

Gary A. Gramling
San Diego Housing Commission
San Diego, CA

Previous Winners

Wilbert Jones, Commissioner, Housing Authority of the City of Merdiian, Meridian, MS

Alan Styles,
Former Commissioner, Housing Authority of the County of Monterey, Salinas, CA

123 Rico Street 
Salinas, CA 

Johnny Johnson, CommissionerMississippi Regional Housing Authority No. IV, Columbus, MS

Casey Wallace, Chairman, Harris County HA, Houston, TX

Fred Wescott,  Chairman, Winnebago County HA, Rockford, IL

Sal Salas, Chairman, San Diego Housing Commission, San Diego, CA

Doreen Cato,
Commissioner, King County Housing Authority, Seattle, WA

Richard Y. Nelson, Jr.,
Chairman, Housing Opportunities Commission, Kensington, MD

Carl S. Richie, Jr.,
Commissioner, Austin Housing Authority, Austin, TX

Rev. France A. Davis,
Chairperson, Housing Authority of Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City, UT

Richard S. Lujan, Chairman, Hsg. Auth. of the County of Contra Costa, Martinez, CA

Delmar Robinson, Chairman, Biloxi Housing Authority, Biloxi, MS

Charles B. Redd, Chairperson, Ft. Wayne Housing Authority, Ft. Wayne, IN

Sue H. McClenachan, Chairperson, Greenwich Housing Authority, Greenwich, CT

Marjorie C. Murphy, Commissioner, Wayne County Housing Authority, Hawley, PA

Ozie B. Gonzaque, Chairperson, Housing Authority of the City of Los Angeles, Los Angeles, CA

John L. Collins, Commissioner, Vancouver Housing Authority, Vancouver, WA

Edna Dorothy Carty-Daniel, Commissioner/Vice Chairperson, Perth Amboy Housing Authority, Perth Amboy, NJ

For additional information, contact:

 LaTonya Rajah
 877-866-2476, ext. 7206