Housing Authorities Win National Awards Of Merit

Washington, D.C. (July 12, 2016) - The NAHRO Awards of Merit Program honors NAHRO housing and community development member organizations for their work in making communities better.  Established in 1989, the program has honored more than 6,000 programs. The official presentation of the award will take place in Portland, Ore. on July 15 during NAHRO’s Summer Conference.

“The NAHRO Awards of Merit Program was created to give national recognition to NAHRO Member organizations that have found innovative ways of making a difference in the communities and the lives of the people they serve,” said NAHRO President Steve Merritt.

The 2016 NAHRO Awards of Merit recognize outstanding achievement in housing and community development programs in five categories. Administrative Innovation recognizes innovative methods in areas such as maintenance, community relations, and interagency cooperation. Program Innovation — Affordable Housing includes special programs for homeownership, public/private partnerships, and innovative financing. Program Innovation — Community Revitalization includes innovative use of programs in areas such as economic development, neighborhood preservation, and creative financing. Program Innovation — Resident and Client Services includes innovative use of programs such as special activities for children, families, and the elderly, anti-drug programs, social services, and self-sufficiency. Project Design includes efforts such as new housing design, housing modernization, enduring design, and landscape design.


“This program celebrates achievement and honors the work that our members do each and every day to ensure a safe and affordable place to call home. Showcasing the efforts of housing agencies and agency officials through NAHRO’s Awards of Merit,” said NAHRO Acting CEO John Bohm.


“We hope that the general public, community leaders, private industry and government itself will become inspired to reform and enhance existing housing and community development programs and in addition create new ground-breaking programs and services to meet the housing needs our nation’s most vulnerable citizens.”


See NAHRO’s 2016 Agency Awards of Merit in Housing and Community Development.



NAHRO 2016 Awards of Merit Presented to:

Adams County Housing Authority

Albuquerque Housing Authority

Allegheny County Housing Authority

Bangor Housing Authority

Boone County Housing Authority

Bristol Housing Authority

Burlington Housing Authority

Cincinnati Metropolitan Housing Authority

City of Mountain View

City of Omaha Planning Department

City of Roanoke Redevelopment and Housing Authority

City of Westland Department of Housing & Community

Citizen’s Opportunity for Development and Equality, Inc.

Colorado Department of Local Affairs - Division of Housing

Community Development Commission of the County of Los Angeles

Cook Inlet Housing Authority

County of San Diego Department of Housing and Community Development

Coventry Housing Authority

Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority

Denver Housing Authority

District of Columbia Housing Authority

East Greenwich Housing Authority

Fort Collins Housing Authority

Fort Wayne Housing Authority

Fort Worth Housing Solutions

Greensboro Housing Authority

Johnson City Housing Authority

Lake County Housing Authority

Lawrence-Douglas County Housing Authority

Lincoln Housing Authority

Lowell Housing Authority

Highlands Residential Services

Housing Authority of DeKalb County

Housing Authority of the City of Alameda

Housing Authority of the City of Austin

Housing Authority of the City of Erie

Housing Authority of the City of Freeport

Housing Authority of the City of Laurel, MS

Housing Authority of the City of Lincoln

Housing Authority of the City of Santa Barbara

Housing Authority of the City of Winter Park

Housing Authority of the County of Santa Clara

Housing Authority of the County of Salt Lake

Housing Authority of the County of Monterey

Housing Authority of the County of San Bernardino

Memphis Housing Authority

Minneapolis Public Housing Authority

New York City Housing Authority

Newport News Redevelopment and Housing Authority

Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority

Oakland Housing Authority

Philadelphia Housing Authority

Pinellas County Housing Authority

Portsmouth Redevelopment and Housing Authority

Randolph County Housing Authority

Rock Island Housing Authority

San Antonio Housing Authority

San Diego Housing Commission

Spartanburg Housing Authority

Springfield Housing Authority

The Huston Housing Authority

Winnebago County Housing Authority

Winter Haven Housing Authority

Yolo Housing/New Hope

Yolo County Housing



For individual release, please contact Carmen Smith at csmith@nahro.org




NAHRO, established in 1933, is a membership organization of 20,000 housing and community development agencies and professionals throughout the United States whose mission is to create affordable housing and safe, viable communities that enhance the quality of life for all Americans, especially those of low- and moderate-income. NAHRO's membership administers more than 3 million housing units for 7.6 million people.