Individual Awards

NAHRO offers a variety of awards and recognition to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the housing and community development field.

They are:

M. Justin Herman Memorial Award - to honor an exceptionally qualified person who has made outstanding contributions to the quality of life through service in the field of housing or community development. Deadline:  August 1, 2016

John D. Lange International Award - to honor a person who has made contributions to the international community. - Deadline: August 1, 2016

Elizabeth B. Wells Memorial Award - to honor a commissioner for outstanding service. - Deadine: August 1, 2016

MSC Community Service Award - recognizes outstanding businesses or individuals engaged in voluntary community service for the benefit of a resident, a local housing authority, a community development agency, or other entity involved in providing low-income housing or serving that population.  Deadline: August 1, 2016

NAHRO Fellowship Program - honors those who have demonstrated exemplary qualities as housing and community development advocates, professionals and/or volunteers.  Deadline for applications July 1, 2016

Emerging Leader Award - recognizes an individual who has been involved in NAHRO at the national level for six years or less and has distinguished him/herself as an Emerging Leader. Deadline:  August 1, 2016

Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award - honors outstanding achievement and efforts to stand for the importance of affordable housing and community development initiatives. Deadline for applications: March 18, 2016.

Roll of Achievers - honors residents who have made noteworthy efforts to improve as an individual or as a member of the community.

Educational Scholarships - scholarships for residents and staff family members provided by NAHRO Chapters, Regions, and State Association as well as by local agencies.  The scholarship provider may enter information about the scholarship online.


Winners of the Herman, Lange and Wells awards will be honored at NAHRO's National Conference in New Orleans, LA: October 14-16, 2016.