NAHRO Awards First Round of College Scholarships


The first set of NAHRO Merit College Scholarship program recipients was announced at the Summer Conference in Indianapolis. Eight recipients, one from each of our NAHRO regions, will receive $1,000 to support them in their higher education pursuits. Two of these recipients will receive an additional $2,000 and $5,000 respectively.

Rodolfo Cantu from the Southwest Regional Council, received an additional $5,000. Cantu is an upcoming freshmen at the University of Texas at Austin and resident of the Edinburg Housing Authority in Texas.

Nigel Dent from Southeastern Regional Council, received an additional $3,000. Dent is a Natchez Housing Authority resident in Mississippi. He has been accepted into the University of Mississippi with plans to become a journalist.

Recipients of the $1,000 scholarship are:

  • Stephanie Gonzaga, New England Regional Council
  • Arianna Hall, Middle Atlantic Regional Council
  • Taylor Mershon, North Central Regional Council
  • Holly Kieffer, Mountain Plains Regional Council
  • April Thompson, Pacific Northwest Regional Council
  • Rachel Garcia, Pacific Southwest Regional Council

Approved by the NAHRO Board of Governors this spring, the program is administered by NAHRO’s Housing America campaign, which is also celebrating its 10-year anniversary. Over the past few months, the Housing America Task Force, along with regional service officers and NAHRO staff, have worked diligently to select the first set of scholarship recipients for the 2017-2018 academic year.