Awards for Agencies

NAHRO provides opportunities for its member agencies to receive national recognition for their innovative housing and community development projects, programs, and services.   These awards provide additional opportunities to inform the public of the best in housing and community development; and to create a resource bank of information on significant innovative activities performed by housing and redevelopment agencies and community development departments. Information from award recipients is also used to support NAHRO's positions at HUD and in Congress.

Awards of Merit
These Awards are available to member agencies to showcase their innovative programs. The Merit Award winners are featured during the Summer Conference.  A Members-Only  searchable Awards Best Practices Database includes the winning Merit Award entries since 2000. The 2020 Awards Application process is now closed.

Awards of Excellence
Nominated from among the Award of Merit winners each year, these Awards are chosen by national juries and presented at the annual National Conference and Exhibition.  They represent the very best in innovative programs in assisted housing and community development. 

Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award
The Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award recognizes outstanding and innovative achievement in the area of legislative advocacy. Awardees are recognized during NAHRO's annual Spring Legislative Conference in Washington, D.C.

Business Partners Council (BPC) Partnership Award
The award recognizes both a vendor partner and a housing agency or community development agency whose partnership best exemplifies a joint effort that creates positive change.

For additional information, contact:

Awards of Merit and Excellence
Lori Myers-Carpenter
  -  toll free 877-866-2476, ext. 7221

Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award
Tess Hembree
- toll free 877-866-2476, ext 7210

Business Partners Council (BPC) Partnership Award
Sylvia Gimenez
- toll free 877-866-2476, ext 7224