John D. Lange International Award

Purpose:  To further the work of the NAHRO International Committee by recognizing a person in the housing and community development field who has made an outstanding contribution toward international understanding and exchange of international experience.

History: The award was established in 1983 in the name of John D. Lange, Executive Director of NAHRO from 1951 to 1970, who actively participated throughout his professional career in international exchange and, in his retirement, carried out executive service assignments in Argentina, Indonesia, and the Philippines.

Qualifications: Each nominee must have direct affiliation with the housing and community development field and have made an outstanding contribution to international understanding in housing and community development.

Deadline: August 17, 2020.

The recipient will be honored during NAHRO's National Conference and Exhibition, October 1-3, 2020, in Orlando, FL.

 Apply Online

Scoring Criteria and Lange Application Format

Qualifications: Each nominee must have direct affiliation with the housing and community development field and have made an outstanding contribution in providing, promoting or developing better housing and community development throughout the World.

The review committee will base its recommendation on the following factors:

1. Specific achievements accomplished over an extended period of time in the field of housing and/or community development as a public official, provider or advocate.

2. Professional career in international development either managing international projects, starting new programs in other countries, creating incentives for foreign investments in US communities, and assisting with projects and programs that are being performed by U.S. or international organizations.

3. The extent to which the individual is recognized as an expert in the field as exemplified through scholarly and professional writings, participation in international conferences and meetings and participation in professional exchanges.

2018 Recipient

Robert Cohen
Westmount, Quebec Canada

Previous Winners


Elizabeth "Liz" Glenn, Principal, Sustainable Community Development


Jaime Bordenave, President,The Communities Group


Kerron Barnes, IRGE Member

Bob Kempink, Chief Executive, FLOW (Fonds Leren en Ontwikkelen Wooncorporaties), Almere-Haven, The Netherlands.

Gerrit Teunis, Chief Executive, Housing Association Beter Wonen Vechtdal,  The Netherlands

Theresa Williamson, Executive Director, Catalytic Communities, Washington, DC and Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Robert Dubinsky , Chairman, International Housing Coalition, Washington, DC

Sofie Eldor, Director, Urban Planning Department, Ministry of Construction and Housing, Jerusalem, Israel

Michel Holsten, Vice President, Office of Business Development, CHF International, Silver Spring, MD

Rick Gentry, President/CEO. San Diego Housing Commission. San Diego, CA, and former NAHRO President

Dr. Thomas Manion, Jr., Chief Executive Officer, Irwell Valley Housing, Manchester, England

Rodney Dykes, Managing Director, RDHS, Ltd., Deputy Chair, Liverpool Housing Action Trust, Formby, Liverpool England

David A. Smith, Recap Advisors, Inc., Boston, MA

Montebang Lawrence Ramashamole, Honorary Treasurer and Immediate Past President, Institute for Housing of South Africa (IHSA), Republic of South Africa

Christine Davies, Housing Researcher/Consultant, Former Trustee of William Sutton Trust, United Kingdom

Claude Roy; Urban Planner, Société d'habitation du Québec, Chair, Canadian Housing & Renewal Association, Montreal, Canada

Peter Kimm; former Director, U.S. - Asia Environmental Partnership; USAID, Washington, DC

Lester Gross, President, International Management Services, Inc., Community Outreach Director, Institute of Public Affairs, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC

Mary E. Paumen, Program Officer, Local Initiatives Support Corporation, Philadelphia, PA

John Geraghty, Senior International Affairs, Program Officer, HUD, Washington, DC

Gordon Cavanaugh, Esq., Partner, Reno & Cavanaugh, PLLC, Washington, DC

Robert W. Maffin, Consultant and Resident Advisor to Bulgarian Government and Former NAHRO Executive Director

For additional information, contact: