Karina Mason Rorris Wins National Commissioners Award

(Washington, D.C. —November 18, 2020) – Karina Mason Rorris, the chairwoman for the Board of Commissioners of the Housing Alliance and Community Partnerships (HACP – formerly known as the Housing Authority of Pocatello), was named the 2020 recipient of Commissioners Award by the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO). 

As chair of HACP, Rorris has advocated for and supported several efforts to bring affordable housing to small communities. Despite limited resources and assistance, Rorris has managed to make incredible strides in housing development in Idaho. She’s also served at all levels of NAHRO, including her current role as the Vice President of Commissioners at the national level. 

“Ms. Rorris is not only well versed in the work that NAHRO and its members provide, but her creativity and dedication shines through as she works to solve problems in community and housing development,” NAHRO CEO Adrianne Todman said. 

Rorris assisted in the process of securing needed student housing for local colleges by meeting with elected officials and stakeholders to change zoning requirements to allow for the housing and the opening of a Workforce Development Center. Rorris also was pivotal in securing a Resident Opportunities and Self-Sufficiency (ROSS) grant to provide accommodation and accessibility support for individuals with disabilities served by the agency. 

Want more information?

Sylvia Gimenez

Director of Communications
phone 202-289-3500 mail Send Sylvia an email