MOUNTAIN PLAINS REGIONAL NAHRO

Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Mountain Plains NAHRO has been very engaged in NAHRO leadership with representation on the Board of Governors for the 2015-2017 term. Representatives include Julie Brewen, Vice-President with Portfolio International Research and Global Exchange; Duane Hopkins, Vice-President with Portfolio Professional Development; Don May, Chair Legislative Network; Betsey Martens, Past-President; Patti-Webster, Past MP Regional President; Ann Horton, Representative-at-Large, Matt Pike, Vice-President MP NAHRO and Dianne Hovdestad, President, MP NAHRO. MP NAHRO membership thanks these members for their dedication to their issues.

MP NAHRO and Pacific Northwest Regional Council met in February 2017 to craft a legislative agenda that addressed the common concerns of both regions. This strategy allowed both Regions to strengthen our voices on mutual issues of concern.

Public Housing Authorities in the Mountain Plains region are experiencing a significant number of retirements of Executive Directors and senior management staff. This has led to opportunities for mentoring and the provision of technical assistance by those of us willing to provide them. We will be working to bring new EDs into the NAHRO family and encourage them be involved in advocacy and attend conferences.

Utah, Wyoming and South Dakota Chapters of NAHRO provided reports of their activities for 2015-2017:

Utah-Utah's Chapter contracted with a lobbyist to provide support in assuring the interest of affordable housing and community development programs were represented during the Utah legislative session. In addition, representatives to Utah NAHRO met with Utah Congressional leaders to advocate for affordable housing. Utah NAHRO members participated in the Utah Landlords and Affordable Housing Baseline Study. In addition, Utah NAHRO sponsored several conferences, trainings and professional development opportunities.

Wyoming-WyoNAHRO's membership consists of housing authorities, non-profits, the state housing finance agency and other entities and individuals interested in housing issues. Their primary focus over the past 2 years has been on promotion and implementation of a Wyoming Housing Trust Fund (WHTF). WyoNAHRO developed a white paper/concept paper and has been education citizens about the benefit of a WHTF and building grass roots support for a WHTF. In early 2018, WyoNAHRO plans a work session with community leaders, legislators and others that they hope will lead to the implementation of a WHTF.

South Dakota-With assistance of Matt Pike, Esquire, SD NAHRO was successful in blocking state legislation that would have named the state housing finance agency as the "sole state-wide PHA". If this legislation had passed as introduced it would have allowed the state housing finance agency to administer the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher on a statewide basis. SD NAHRO members are in contact with their Senators throughout the year regarding various issues affecting their operations and advocating for changes.

MP's President-elect for 2017-2019 is Duane Hopkins and Vice-President-elect is Peter LiFari. Julie Brewen was elected as Representative-at-Large to the BG.

Respectfully Submitted, Dianne Hovdestad MP NAHRO President