Journal of Housing & Community Development

Thomas Jefferson Wins National Commissioners Award

December 17, 2021

Thomas Jefferson, the chairperson for the Board of Commissioners of the Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority, was named the 2021 recipient of Commissioners Award by the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO).  

Jefferson is a dedicated leader in his community and at NAHRO. He is steadfast in his advocacy to ensure people can live in safe, decent affordable housing.  Growing up in affordable housing, he understands what happens to people and communities when not everyone has access to the resources necessary to be successful. 

Additionally, Jefferson acts as a primary spokesperson for Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority on Capitol Hill. He’s diligent in maintaining relationships with congressional staff to make sure the needs and messages are heard and understood. 

“We’re thrilled to honor Thomas with this award,” NAHRO Interim CEO Mike Gerber said. “His leadership, advocacy and deep understanding of the work of the housing agency commissioner benefit his agency, his community, and our association.”

About the Commissioner of the Year Award  

This award was established in 1987 to honor the efforts of commissioners in the industry. The first award was given to Ms. Elizabeth B. Wells whose own contributions included being a member of the Board of Commissioners of the King County (WA) Housing Authority and serving as NAHRO’s first Vice President of the Commissioners Committee. This award is provided to a commissioner who embodies the excellence of Ms. Wells contributions. 

More Articles in this Issue

key Member Content
Volume 78, Issue 6

November/December 2021

The National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO) named Elizabeth “Liz” Glenn the Outstanding Professional of…