NAHRO recognizes both individuals and agencies who have bettered the affordable housing and community development industry.

Individual Awards

NAHRO offers a variety of awards and recognition to persons who have made outstanding contributions to the housing and community development field.

NAHRO Outstanding Professional of the Year 

NAHRO’s most prestigious award honors an exceptionally qualified person who has made outstanding contributions to the quality of life through service in the field of housing or community development. 
Deadline: October 8, 2020

The International Research and Global Exchange Award

The International Research and Global Exchange Award, formerly known as the John D. Lange International Award, acknowledges a person who has made contributions to the international community.  
Deadline: October 8, 2020

Commissioner of the Year Award

The Commissioner of the Year Award, formerly known as the Elizabeth B. Wells Memorial Award, celebrates the accomplishments and service of an outstanding commissioner.   
Deadine: October 8, 2020

NAHRO’s Advocacy Award

NAHRO’s Advocacy Award, formerly known as the Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award, pays homage to the recipient whose outstanding achievement and efforts reflect the importance of affordable housing and community development initiatives.
Deadline for applications: March 2, 2020

NAHRO Fellowship Program

NAHRO Fellowship Program venerates recipients who have demonstrated exemplary qualities as housing and community development advocates, professionals and/or volunteers.
The application process is now open. Deadline for pre-approved nominees to submit their applications is July 3, 2020.

Emerging Leader Award 

Emerging Leader Award highlights an individual who has been involved in NAHRO at the national, regional and/or chapter levels for at least five years and has distinguished him/herself as an Emerging Leader.
Deadline: October 8, 2020

Roll of Achievers

Roll of Achievers showcases residents who have made noteworthy efforts to improve as an individual or as a member of the community.

Recipients of the Emerging Leader, Outstanding Professional of the Year, International Research and Global Exchange and Commissioner of the Year awards will be honored at NAHRO’s Online National Conference.

Awards for Agencies

NAHRO provides opportunities for its member agencies to receive national recognition for their innovative housing and community development projects, programs, and services.   These awards provide additional opportunities to inform the public of the best in housing and community development; and to create a resource bank of information on significant innovative activities performed by housing and redevelopment agencies and community development departments. Information from award recipients is also used to support NAHRO’s positions at HUD and in Congress.

Awards of Merit

These Awards are available to member agencies to showcase their innovative programs. The Merit Award winners are featured during the Summer Conference.  A Members-Only searchable Awards Best Practices Database includes the winning Merit Award entries since 2000. The 2021 Awards Application process is now open.

The 2020 Awards of Merit catalog is available here.

Awards of Excellence

Nominated from among the Award of Merit winners each year, these Awards are chosen by national juries and presented at the annual National Conference and Exhibition.  They represent the very best in innovative programs in assisted housing and community development. 

Business Partners Council (BPC) Partnership Award

The award recognizes both a vendor partner and a housing agency or community development agency whose partnership best exemplifies a joint effort that creates positive change.

For additional information, contact:

Awards of Merit and Excellence

Lori Myers-Carpenter

Director of Customer Service/Member Relations
phone 202-289-3500 x 7221 mail Send Lori an email

Business Partners Council (BPC) Partnership Award

Sylvia Gimenez

Director of Communications
phone 202-289-3500 x 7224 mail Send Sylvia an email

Mary K. Nenno Advocacy Award

Tess Hembree

Director of Congressional Relations
phone 877-866-2476 x 7210 mail Send Tess an email